Of Budgets & Gray Clouds

Today was a rough day. For no good reason.  Well, one reason was that I couldn’t stop thinking about our budget. Don’t get me wrong.  I am sooo glad we are doing a budget.  Budgets are like salve for your fiscal conscience.  And something about just writing down what you’re spending and thinking about it causes you to spend less (also works with food and time).  But I thought about it too much and then I had to talk about it and things just went downhill from there.  Beyond that I think there was just a gray cloud over my head and so the topic that got the benefit of today’s gray cloud was the budget.

But. That’s not what this post is about.  It’s about what made me happy.  2 things.  1) Getting with other believers.  Some plans got cancelled and somehow RP and I found ourselves with a good meal and no one to share it with.  After a few calls we found some friends/believers in our neighborhood who were free!  Something about the saints coming over and joining you for a meal, just makes things better. Thank you R family for saving me from my self.

And 2) This verse from Jonah 4:10-11 in which the Lord says to Jonah, “You had pity on the tree that you did not labor for nor cause to grow, which came into being overnight and perished overnight; and I, should I not have pity on Nineveh, the great city, in which are more than a hundred and twenty thousand people, who cannot discern between their right hand and their left, and many cattle?”  Why did this make me happy, you may ask.  Well, I just felt like the Lord was reminding me, “Kristin, I know who you are.  I know you fail. I know sometimes you can’t even discern between your right hand and your left.  But I am still full of compassion towards you.  I’m still taking care of you.”  The Lord had compassion even on the great and evil city of Nineveh.

And since every good blog post should have a picture.  And since I am still learning to take pictures of things as they happen, here is an irrelevant picture that I just really like of Pop Pop and baby Lily from last October:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Of Budgets & Gray Clouds

  1. Marilyn

    Thanks for sharing your heart, Kristin. What a wonderful practice it is to recount God’s faithfulness each and every day… I am encouraged by your post!

Leave a Reply

